Skip to main content

What G-Cloud 8 means for G-Cloud 6 and G-Cloud 7 suppliers

Posted by: , Posted on: - Categories: Digital Marketplace, G-Cloud, Suppliers

In mid May, suppliers will be able to apply to supply their services to government through the latest iteration of the G-Cloud framework, G-Cloud 8 (G8). At the moment, cloud services are available through G-Cloud 6 (G6) and G-Cloud 7 (G7) on the Digital Marketplace. When G6 ends in August 2016, services will be available through G8 as well as G7.

G-Cloud 6 suppliers should apply to G-Cloud 8

If you offer services through G6 and want to continue to provide services through the Digital Marketplace, you need to reapply to become a G-Cloud supplier. We’ll remove G6 services from the Digital Marketplace when the framework ends on 1 August.

The G8 application process is simpler and clearer than the one you used to apply for G6. You can find out how to apply in the G-Cloud suppliers’ guide.

G-Cloud 7 suppliers

If you offer services through G7, you don’t need to apply to be a G8 supplier. However, you should apply to be a G8 supplier if you’d like to:

  • make substantial changes to the services you offer at the moment
  • add new services

If you’d like to make any non-material changes to your existing G7 services, you can email

Although G7 is due to end in November 2016, we expect to extend it to ensure that G7 suppliers have time to apply to offer their services through the G-Cloud 9 (G9) framework. We’ll remove G7 services from the Digital Marketplace when G9 services become available.

Sharing and comments

Share this page